Florida Homeschooling Laws
This state provides that parents can homeschool independently or as a qualified homeschool co-op sort of entity which is a private school corporation of homeschooling families. At present, the only difference between the two choices is that the qualifying process eliminates the need for annual standardized testing, which independent families are subject to. The following are for these families.
Reporting: Parents must file a notice of intent to homeschool with the local school district within 30 days of beginning to officially teach. They also have to maintain a portfolio of the child’s work and a record of the materials used.
Compulsory Attendance: Between the ages of 6 and 16; 180 days in the public schools but currently none specifically required of homeschoolers.
Testing: An annual standardized test has to be administered by a certified teacher or the child can simply be evaluated by a certified teacher.
Two statewide organizations:
Florida Parent-Educators Association (FPEA)
7682 Municipal Dr, Orlando, FL 32819; Tel: 1-877-ASK-FPEA
F: 407-363-9241; http://www.fpea.com
Annual convention was held May 27-29, 2010 in Orlando.
Florida Home Education Foundation (HEF)
PO Box 12563, Tallahassee, FL 32317-2563
This is a legislative watch-dog and information site for all homeschoolers in Florida. http://www.flhef.org
(1) Coastal Florida Curriculum Fair – http://www.coastalfair.com
Central Assembly of God, 6767 20th St, Vero beach, Florida 32966
Annual Fair was March 12-13, 2010 in Vero Beach.
(2) North Central Florida Homeschool Fair, Gainesville
Annual Fair – Check website for updates.
(3) Freedom Academy of Learning Convention
Annual Convention – Check website for updates