Georgia Homeschooling Laws

In this state, parents must have a high school diploma or its equivalent (GED) to teach their children.

Reporting: Parents must file a notice of intent with the local school district within 30 days of beginning teaching the first year and by September 1, each year after that. Monthly attendance records must be filed with the school district and an annual progress report at the end of each school year.

Compulsory Attendance: Between the ages of 6 and 16; 180 days per year, 4-1/2 hours per day.

Required Subjects: Math, reading, language arts (typically spelling, grammar, composition), science and social studies.

Testing: The parents must administer a standardized test at the end of Gr 3, 6, 9 and 12 and must keep the results on file for potential review by the school district.

State Organization(s):
Georgia Home Education Association (GHEA) Christian
258 Sandy Lake Circle, Fayetteville GA 30205; Tel: 770-461-3657
F: 501.638-5264; E-mail: info@ghea.org http://www.ghea.org/

Convention(s):
GHEA sponsors an annual Conference. Check website for updates.