Louisiana Homeschooling Laws
Here, parents can operate as a homeschool private school or a board-of-education- approved homeschool. There is virtually no difference between them. The private school has no record-keeping requirements or testing requirements. For parents not operating as a private school the following rules apply:
Reporting: An annual application and copy of the child’s birth certificate must be filed with the local board of education within 15 days after the family begins homeschooling.
Compulsory Attendance: Age 7 to 18; 180 days per year
Required Subjects: Comparable to that taught in the public schools, and must include a study of the Federalist Papers and the Declaration of Independence.
Testing: With the renewal application, the parents must submit evidence that their program is at least comparable to the public school offering. The only record-keeping requirement is whatever is necessary to satisfy this evidence requirement.
(1) Christian Home Educators Fellowship (CHEF) of Louisiana
POB 226, Maurice, LA 70555; 888-876-CHEF; http://www.chefofla.org/
(2) Louisiana Home Education Network (LAHEN) Non-religious
PMB 700, 602 W. Prien Lake Rd, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Convention(s): Possibly none. Check the websites for updates.