Massachusetts Homeschooling Laws
This state requires the parents to obtain advance approval by local school authorities. What this entails seems to have varied over the last 10 years, so find out your local school district’s current requirements as soon as you decide to homeschool here.
Reporting: Beyond the approval process, there is currently no reporting requirement. However, since the atmosphere in this state has been very draconian in years past, it might be wise to keep records of attendance, track the child’s work and progress, etc., anyway. When it comes time to apply to colleges, this information will come in handy for developing transcripts and showing completion of certain work.
Compulsory Attendance: From age 6 to 16 and with the usual 900 hours per year for elementary students; 990 hours for secondary school students.
Required Subjects: Arithmetic, reading, writing, English language skills, including grammar, art, music, geography, the U.S. Constitution and history, citizenship, physical education.
Testing: There is no specified requirement, but at the time approval is sought, the approving authority may require standardized testing as a condition of approval. This is why it is important to inquire in detail first, before you make a hard and fast decision about homeschooling here.
(2) Massachusetts Homeschool Organization of Parent Educators (MASSHOPE)
(Christian) 46 South Rd, Holden, MA 01520 – http://www.masshope.org
Convention: Sponsors annual conference. Check website for updates.
Convention(s): Learning In Our Own Way – http://www.learninginourownway.com/
Produced by esteemed unschooling expert, Patrick Farenga
Check website for updates