North Dakota Homeschooling Laws
This state is the most stringent in terms of the requirements necessary for parents to teach their own children. As noted below, Pennsylvania requires parents to possess a high school diploma or the equivalent. North Dakota requires parents who do not possess a teaching certificate or B.A., but do possess a high school diploma or equivalent, to be monitored by a certified teacher during the first two years of homeschooling. After that, if the child scores below the 50th percentile on standardized tests, monitoring of the parents must continue. Note: If you have a child who is Developmentally Disabled, there are more strict requirements for reporting, etc., so look carefully into these before beginning to homeschool.
Reporting: Each year a notice of intent to homeschool must be filed with the local superintendent 14 days before the beginning of homeschooling or, in the case of new arrivals to the school district, on the 14th day of residency. The parents must also maintain an annual record of the subjects completed and the child’s progress through them, by assessments and standardized test results.
Compulsory Attendance: From ages 7 to 16, 175 days per year, but only four hours per day or 700 hours per year.
Required Subjects: Math, English language skills — reading, composition, grammar, spelling, creative writing; social studies, U.S. history, U.S. Constitution, government, science, geography, physical education and health.
Testing: Standardized tests are required to be administered in Gr 4, 6, 8 and 10. The test must be administered by a certified teacher and the results submitted to the local school superintendent. If the child scores below the 30th percentile, a professional determination regarding learning disability must be obtained and the parents must submit a remedial plan to the superintendent.
Convention(s): Sponsors an annual conference. Check website for updates