Washington Homeschooling Laws
This state offers two methods for homeschooling: Parents teach at home independently or else as part of an approved private school for home education. The qualifications for teaching are rather strict: Be supervised by a teacher, have completed 45 college hours or be approved by the local superintendent.
Reporting: Parents must file an annual notice of intent by September 15 or within two weeks of the beginning of a public school quarter. Parents must maintain the child’s standardized test scores, academic progress assessments and records of immunizations.
Compulsory Attendance: Ages 8 to 18. 1000 hours per year, which breaks down to 5.5 hours per day for 180 days.
Required Subjects: Math, reading, writing, spelling, language skills, science, social studies, history, music, art and health.
Testing: An annual standardized test must be administered by a state-qualified person or the child must be evaluated by a working teacher.
(1) Washington Homeschool Organization (WHO)
6632 S. 191st Place, Ste E100, Kent, WA 98032; Message: 425-251-0439
http://www.washhomeschool.org – E-mail: WHOoffice@foxinternet.net
Convention(s): WHO annual Conference – check website for updates.
Christian Heritage Home Educators of WA